District Quarterly No.12: Annual evaluation and outlook

Tsuen Wan Rural
District Quarterly No.12

Annual evaluation and outlook

Content

Norris Hin Lung Ng
Tsuen Wan District Councillor


Transportation: Request to revamp the bus fare structure to charge by distance

1: Follow up the proposal of provision of return section fare from Tuen Mun to Sham Tseng

52X is the route where residents use to travel from Tuen Mun Central to Tsing Lung Tau and Sham Tseng. They however need to pay the full fare ($12.8) even for a relatively shorter distance. Meanwhile, 53, which charges a lower fare, is not a reliable substitute due to its low frequency. Residents have to pay an unreasonable fare but have no choice. In comparison, Singapore has already implemented charging by distance. I requested in the Council to revamp the bus fare structure and to provide two-way section fare for routes without viable alternatives like 52X. Trip from Tuen Mun to Sham Tseng should charge only $7.8. Trans. Dept. promised to follow up with the bus company.

2: Advocate lowering the section fare of 234A and 234B and providing more interchange concessions

The last section of route 234A/B between Bellagio and Sea Crest Villa is a short one, but the section fare of $4.1, compared to the full fare of $6.1/$5.1, does not accurately reflect the relationship between fare and distance. Another Tsuen Wan route 30X however charges a lower section fare $3.5 from Fu Wah St to Allway Gardens for a longer distance. I have written to bus companies proposing to lower the section fare and to offer interchange discounts to routes such as 52X/234C/234D/962B for more convenient access to Sham Tseng, where residents go to for daily needs and interchange.

Annual Statement: District Issues Evaluation and Outlook

1: Focus on people’s livelihood & Improve transportation and traffic

1 Petition to Commissioner for Transport / 2 Fighting for airport bus to observe Tsing Lung Tau full-day at District Council / 3 Petition to Transport Department for improvement of transportation in Sham Tseng and Tsing Lung Tau / 4 Meeting minibus operators and Transport Department with the representatives of Sea Crest Villa Phase 4 / 5 Request to abolish quota for buses

In the past year, my work kept focused on improving our transportation. I am pleased to understand that Transport Department and the bus companies have positively responded to our demand to provide more trips of 234D to Kwun Tong and 962E to Island East, and to commence route 962N to Causeway Bay at early morning and midnight, and to allow airport bus A31P to observe Tsing Lung Tau all day.

I am also in close contact with Transport Department and the bus companies to discuss the service levels of other bus routes. For instance, we keep advocating the extension the service hours of 261B to Tsim Sha Tsui, to commence a new express route 261C to and from Kowloon East, and to follow up the occupancy of 962 series.

Meanwhile, a number of road improvement proposals were accepted and implemented by Transport Department. This includes (i) increasing the traffic priority from Ting Kau Bridge to Tsing Ma Bridge by changing road marking to reduce the traffic congestion on Tuen Mun Road; (ii) lengthening the solid-cum-broken lines on West Kowloon Highway at the slip road to Ching Cheung Road and Gascoigne Road to avoid hindrance to vehicles going straight, to protect those crossing the harbour in particular; (iii) installation of more traffic bollards at Ma Wan Pier Bus Stop to prevent illegally parked vehicles from blocking buses entering the station. I will continue to follow up on other aspects of traffic, such as (i) raising the traffic priority of vehicles going straight at the roundabouts on Castle Peak Road to avoid collisions between vehicles on the inside lane and outside lane; (ii) installation of cameras against speeding and red-light-running on Castle Peak Road to protect pedestrians and drivers; (iii) increasing the number of motorcycle parking spaces at Lung Yue Road.

I believe that as we continue to work hard and liaise, more convenient transport options will become available and smoother roads we have.

2: Face the challenge & Overcome the difficulties

1 Inter-departmental meeting for Street Sleeper / 2 Lodging complaint to Ombudsman for the Street Sleeper case / 3 Proposal of introduction of technology to assist enforcement actions to Secretary for Security / 4 Proposing Tuen Mun – Tsuen Wan – Sha Tin Railway in District Council / 5 Proposing Tuen Mun – Tsuen Wan – Sha Tin Railway in Legislative Council

Despite the achievements in 2018, challenges were encountered. Bureaucracy is common among the government departments. The multi-departmental matters often require a lot of time to clarify their purview and responsibilities. In the case of Tsing Lung Tau street sleeper, I started to follow up since I took office in January 2016. After several joint departmental meetings, relevant government departments took no practical action. The case would not have ended if the street sleeper did not withdraw from living on the footbridge for his own personal reasons. The current government practice of avoiding responsibility is unacceptable and must be rectified. I have lodged a complaint to the Office of The Ombudsman which was accepted and being investigated. I will handle bureaucracies without tolerance if I encounter similar situation in the future.

The Government lacks vision in formulating policies. In Chinese saying, it is called “to treat where the pain is”, focusing on narrow parts without understanding the wider picture. The Government has been taking no action until the problem surfaced and worsened before it began to think of ways to deal with it. However, I do believe the longer livelihood infrastructure projects take, the earlier it needs to be prepared. For example, Tuen Mun Road and Ting Kau Bridge are often congested. The construction of a railway is undoubtedly one of the long-term solutions to the chronic traffic congestion in the West New Territories. Following the local consultation in November 2017, I will continue to advocate my scheme of Tuen Mun – Tsuen Wan and Sha Tin Railway to various senior officials of the Government, in preparation for the future.

The Government is lagging behind in the utilisation of technology. To combat illegally parked vehicles, the police is still hand-writing tickets, and police officers or traffic wardens must be present to issue the tickets. In fact, the Government may set up IP cameras to monitor the road situations and automatically analyse the captured videos to obtain information of the illegally parked vehicles for further prosecution. By then the need for police officers to personally attend the location of traffic offence would be reduced, freeing up time for more important life-saving duties. I will continue to advocate the introduction of technology to improve the efficiencies of government operation.

3: Down-to-earth thinking & Execute with discipline

1 Street Session at Hong Kong Garden / 2 Street Session at Sea Crest Villa Phase 1 / 3 Street Session at Ma Wan Pier / 4 Street Session at Sea Crest Villa Phase 3 / 5 Street Session at Sea Crest Villa Phase 4

 

1 Site Visit for enhancement works to Tsuen Wan Multi-Storey Carpark minibus terminus with government departments / 2 Site Visit with Home Affairs Department for the proposed sitting-out area at Tsing Lung Tau coastal area

In the past three years since I assumed office, I have been adhering to the principle of “seeking truth from facts”. To do what should be done, in a disciplined manner. Before any proposal, research and data collection must be done. I will put forward the proposal only if the goal is objective, reasonable and in line with the long-term interests of the public. Due to the same reason, my proposal are often not quick-fixes and people may not be able to see the result in a short period of time. Even if there is good news, I may not be the earliest person to announce the news because of the time needed for verification. I believe that the residents need a Councillor who can be trusted and will consider the well-being of the district, instead someone who is keen on gaining credits.

2019 is the last year of this term. I will hold the above principles and continue to follow up a number of proposals, including but not limited to increasing the fleet size of minibus route 308M and provide special trips from Tsing Lung Tau, commencing bus route 52M to and from Tsuen Wan and Kwai Fong, improving the accessibility and waiting environment of the Tsuen Wan Multi-storey Carpark minibus terminus, enhancing the waterfront facilities and developing a second-hand goods exchange platform.

Finally, I wish you all good health and every success in 2019!

 


Transportation: Result of Survey on Pattern of Transportation to Tsuen Wan & Kwai Fong

Listening to feedback at Hong Kong Garden

The survey on Mode of Transport to Tsuen Wan and Kwai Chung has been completed in December 2018. Thanks for your participation and your precious feedback!

This survey reveals that a majority of residents in Tsing Lung Tau and Sham Tseng goes to Tsuen Wan and Kwai Fong for leisure and shopping, apart from for work and study. The transport demand for work and study is more concentrated at rush hours, while that for leisure and shopping is sustained and spread out at non-rush hours.

1: Do you need to visit Tsuen Wan Town and Kwai Hing Kwai Fong in your daily life?

2: Councillor Norris Ng is striving for bus service to Tsuen Wan and Kwai Fong. If at the beginning there is only one trip per day, when should it arrive our district so that it would be most convenient to you?

The result reveals a general trend that the demand for service during morning rush hours is high. 410 out of 495 respondents (82.8%) indicated their preferred time in the period of 07:00 – 08:45. The demand peaked at 07:30 and 08:00, where 118 (23.8%) and 110 (22.2%) respondents indicated as their preferred time respectively. Relatively quite a lot of people chose time not printed on the question paper, such as 10:00.

3: If it is a return trip, when should it depart at the urban area so that it would be most convenient to you?

The result reveals the demand peaked at 18:30 where 135 (27.2%) respondents indicated as their preferred time. The result plotted into a graph shows the demand slowly growing up from 16:00 to 18:30. Relative quite a lot of people chose time not printed on the question paper, such as 23:00.

 

I have wrote to Transport Department and the bus company for the survey result, for their consideration of our proposal for the new bus route (So Kwun Wat – Tuen Mun Interchange – Sham Tseng Tsing Lung Tau – Tsuen Wan – Kwai Fong). Taking the above survey result into consideration, I proposed timetable of initial operation could be 06:30 – 19:30 for outbound service and 12:00 – 24:00 for inbound service.

Explaining works on fighting for improvement at Lido Garden
Transport Department receipt of survey result

Survey conditions

Questionnaire received

Valid responses: 495
Period: 01/12/2018 – 22/12/2018
Method: Distributed and collected online, at street sessions, through instant messages, emails, and at our office.

* Multiple-choices were not forbidden for all questions. The basis of all percentages is the number of valid responses, i.e. 495. As such, numbers do not add up to 495 and percentages do not add up to 100%.


All new exchange platform

ex.nhl.hk

All new exchange platform is now in use!
Come and post your item and find something useful!


Feedback

Please fill in your name、resident and contact, you may let us know by:
  1. Email to dc@nhl.hk
  2. Whatsapp to5546 5506
  3. Submit toDistrict Councillor’s Office

PS: Recycled paper is used as far as possible for both external publications and internal office matters for environmental protection, also District Quarterly currently printed with 100% recycled paper and soy ink!

Share on FacebookShare on Google+Email this to someone

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

第十二季地區報: 年度回顧與展望

荃灣郊區
第十二季地區報

年度回顧與展望

內容

伍顯龍
荃灣區議會議員


交通事項: 要求改革巴士收費結構 實施按里數準確收費

1: 跟進 52X 增設屯門至深井回程分段收費

52X是由屯門市中心回青龍頭深井的主要交通工具,但現時乘搭需要付全費$12.8,行車里數與收費不相稱,然而收費較平的53卻班次疏落,難以提供可靠的替代服務,居民唯有「焗搭」付較高的車費回家。反觀新加坡已全面實施按里數收費,本人在區議會上提出要求改革巴士收費結構,在52X此類無合理替代工具的路線提供雙向分段收費,屯門至深井應只收$7.8,因應科技進步長遠應研究按里數準確收費,運輸署承諾與巴士公司商討跟進。

2: 倡議降低 234A 234B 分段收費並提供更多轉乘優惠

由深井碧堤半島至浪翠園是路線234A/B最尾的一段,行車距離並不長,但相對分段收費$4.1就與全費$6.1/5.1差不多,行車里數與收費不相稱。相比之下,荃灣路線30X由富華街至荃威花園一段路程較長,收費$3.5卻較低。本人已去信巴士公司建議考慮居民日常生活進出深井及在深井轉車的需要,調低分段收費,並要求與52X/234C/234D/962B等線設立轉乘優惠,方便浪翠園居民回家。

年度咨文: 區務回顧與展望

1: 聚焦民生 改善交通

1 致函運輸署署長 / 2 在區議會爭取機場巴士全日途經青龍頭 / 3 向運輸署新界西主任爭取改善青龍頭深井交通 / 4 聯同浪翠園四期業委與運輸署及小巴公司會面 / 5 要求取消巴士配額限制

過去一年,本人的工作繼續以改善交通為重,並喜獲運輸署及巴士公司正面回應增加234D往觀塘、962E往港島東的班次開辦路線962N於晨早及深夜來往銅鑼灣,以及機場巴士全日途經青龍頭

此外,本人與運輸署及巴士公司保持密切聯繫,商討其他巴士路線的服務情況,如拓展261B來往尖沙咀的服務時段,開展來往九龍東的快線261C跟進962系列的情況

與此同時,去年多項路面改善建議獲運輸署跟進及落實,包括改變車輛自汀九橋轉入青馬橋的劃線,以減少屯門公路擠塞的情況;加長西九龍公路轉出呈祥道及加士居道的虛實線,以免阻礙直行過海的車輛;增加馬灣碼頭巴士站的交通柱,以防止違泊的車輛阻塞巴士入站等。本人亦會繼續跟進其他方面的交通情況,如提高青山公路迴旋處直行的優先權,以避免內外圈車輛相撞;為青山公路加裝超速及衝紅燈的攝錄機來保障行人及駕駛者的安全;在龍如路增加電單車泊位等。

本人相信只要繼續努力與運輸署及巴士公司磋商,本區將會有更多方便的交通選擇及更暢通的道路。

2: 面對挑戰 迎難而上

1 就本區露宿者問題進行聯合部門會議 / 2 向申訴專員公署投訴部門拖延處理露宿者問題 / 3 向保安局局長提出 引入科技協助警方就交通違例執法 / 4 在區議會爭取屯荃沙單軌鐵路 / 5 在立法會爭取屯荃沙單軌鐵路

雖說2018年不少工作漸見成果,但本人遇到的挑戰也頗多。政府不少部門充斥着官僚作風,牽涉多部門的事項往往需花大量時間釐清權責,就安置青龍頭露宿者及清理地方一事為例,本人由16年1月上任起開始跟進,事件經過多次聯合部門會議討論,各部門依然無實際行動,直至露宿者因個人原因撤離天橋,事件才告一段落。本人認為有必要糾正政府部門之間互相推卸責任的歪風,本人已向申訴專員公署投訴並獲立案調查,未來若遇到類似官僚問題本人亦會嚴正處理。

政府制定政策時亦缺乏遠見,往往「頭痛醫頭,腳痛醫腳」,一向是等到問題浮現及惡化,才開始想辦法處理,但需時越長的民生基建項目越需要及早籌備,本人摒棄短視思維,堅持在議會提出具長遠效益的建議。例如屯門公路及汀九橋經常擠塞,增建鐵路無疑是長遠解決新界西交通的其中一條出路,繼17年11月進行過本區諮詢後,本人會繼續向政府司局長推動方案爭取興建屯荃沙鐵路,並在青龍頭及深井設站,為未來做好準備。

政府科技應用落後,以對違泊的車輛執法為例,警方至今仍用手寫的方法開罰單 (名副其實的「抄牌」) ,並必須由警員或交通督導員在場開出,但其實政府可以用攝錄機監控並自動進行分析找出違例車輛作出檢控,減低警員到場處理交通違例的需要,以騰出時間處理更重要的職務,同時加大阻嚇交通違例行為的力度。本人會繼續在區議會上提出引入技術提升政府運作效率,倡議用新方法解決舊問題。

3: 實事求是 確切執行

1 豪景花園街站 / 2 浪翠園一期街站 / 3 馬灣碼頭街站 / 4 浪翠園三期街站 / 5 浪翠園四期街站

上任三年來,本人一直秉承實事求是的精神,應做就去做,並要有條理地實行。本人每次提案時,必先經過研究及收集數據,結論客觀合理才推出,一切以合乎大眾長遠利益為大前提。因此,本人的提案往往未必會最快見效。就同一原因,即使有好消息,由於需時查證,本人也未必是最早公佈的人,因為本人相信居民需要的並非是一個勤於邀功的議員,而是可信賴、會確切為本區福祉著想的議員。

1 與部門就改善荃灣多層停車場小巴站設施進行實地視察 / 2 與民政署工程部就豪景海旁建造休憩設施進行實地視察

2019年是本屆任期的最後一年,本人會秉承以上原則,繼續積極跟進及開展多個項目,包括但不限於跟進增加308M派車及增加青龍頭開出的特別班次爭取新巴士線52M來往荃灣及葵芳爭取興建升降機連接浪翠園海雲軒改善荃灣多層停車場小巴站的進入方法及候車環境增加海旁設施,以及開展二手物交換平台等。

最後,本人祝願各位2019年身體健康、諸事順利!


交通事項: 前往荃灣葵芳的交通模式調查結果

在豪景街站聆聽意見

在18年12月進行就本區來往荃灣葵涌的交通問卷調查已完成,本人感謝各位的參與及寶貴意見!

調查結果顯示,除了上班及上學,大部份受訪的青龍頭深井居民會到荃灣葵芳進行休閒及購物,上班上學的需求在繁忙時間較集中,但在非繁忙時間則出現持續而平均的休閒及購物的交通需求。

1: 你生活上是否需要到達荃灣市區及葵興葵芳一帶?

2: 伍議員正爭取巴士服務前往荃葵一帶,假設路線以試行一班開辦,你認為該巴士甚麼時候到達本區對你最為方便?

調查結果顯示早上繁忙時段的服務需求很高,495名受訪者中有410名(82.8%)表示07:00-08:45是他們出門的首選時間,07:30和08:00最為多人選擇,分別有118名(23.8%)和110名(22.2%)選擇。同時,不少人選擇沒有印在問卷上的出發時間,如上午10時等。

3: 假設該路線同時試行一班回程,你認為該巴士甚麼時候由市區回程對你最為方便?

調查結果顯示晚上回程的需求由下午開始慢慢增加,直到18:30最為多人選擇,有135名(27.2%)受訪者表示為他們的首選時間。同時,不少人選擇沒有印在問卷上的回程時間,如晚上11時等。

問卷調查細節

收回的問卷

有效答覆: 495
時期: 01/12/2018 – 22/12/2018
方法: 網上、街站、即時短訊、電郵、辦事處分發及收集問卷

* 所有問題沒有禁止多項選擇。所有百分比的基礎是有效答覆的數量,即495。因此,個別問題的答覆總和未必等於495,而百分比的總和亦不一定等於100%。

本人已致函運輸署及巴士公司告知結果,並希望署方考慮本人提出新巴士線來往掃管笏 – 屯門轉車站 – 深井青龍頭 – 荃灣 – 葵芳的建議,因應上述調查結果,本人亦向署方建議新巴士線的服務時間在初期可試行去程06:30 – 19:30和回程12:00 – 24:00。

運輸署收妥問卷調查結果
在麗都街站解釋爭取工作

全新二手物交換平台

ex.nhl.hk

全新二手物交換平台現正啟用!
歡迎各位刊登你的物品及索取有用物品!


意見反映

請將你的意見、姓名、所屬屋苑及聯絡方法

  1. 傳送電郵到 dc@nhl.hk
  2. 發送訊息到5546 5506
  3. 親自遞交到議員辦事處-新界青龍頭豪景花園商場低層一號舖

註:為盡環保責任,本辦事處對外對內均盡量使用再造紙,地區報現已轉用百分百環保再造紙及大豆墨印製!

Share on FacebookShare on Google+Email this to someone

發表迴響

你的電子郵件位址並不會被公開。 必要欄位標記為 *